RCN Meeting, 25-27 February 2011

 

National Evolutionary Synthesis Center, Durham, NC

Meeting Minutes and Slides

Agenda

Friday, Feb. 25, 2011

8:00 am: Shuttle to NESCent from Marriott

8:15: Continental breakfast at NESCent

8:45 – 9:30: Introductions and welcomes from NESCent and RCN PIs

  • Todd Vision: NESCent welcome
  • Paula Mabee: RCN objectives; vertebrate working group
  • Eva Huala: Overview of plant ontologies and projects
  • Andy Deans: Overview of arthropod ontologies and projects
  • Suzanna Lewis: Overview of ontology and software development

9:30 – 10:30: 5-minute lightning talks

10:30 – 10:45: Coffee break

10:45 – 12:30: 5-minute lightning talks

12:30: LUNCH (Have lunch with someone whose talk you found interesting)

2:00: Gary Merrill: ‘What an ontology is (and isn’t); some examples of applied ontology in pharmaceutical science’

2:30 – 3:30: Anatomy ontologies and discovery: reality and possibilities

  • Monte Westerfield: Using phenotypes to find disease genes
  • Chris Mungall: How to build interoperable anatomy ontologies

3:30: Coffee break

4:00: Visions: What would you like ontologies for?

  • Brent Mishler: Ontologies as research tools linking phylogenies, systematics, phenotypes, and genomics
  • Andy Deans: Describing biodiversity and determining species
  • Cyndy Parr: Biodiversity, interacting with non-scientists, vision
  • George Gkoutos: High-throughput phenotyping in the Eumorphia project
  • Eva Huala: Anatomy Ontologies from a Model Organism Database (MOD) perspective

6:00: Shuttle back to hotel

7:00: Walk to restaurant (Pop’s) from hotel

Saturday, Feb. 26, 2011

8:00 am: Shuttle to NESCent from hotel

8:15: Continental breakfast

8:45: Anatomy ontology resources (Andy Deans, moderator)

  • Paula Mabee: Phenoscape: connecting genes and anatomy
  • Greg Riccardi and collaborators: Image browsing using ontologies
  • Jim Balhoff: Curation interfaces: Phenex, Phenote, and MX
  • Others

10:00: Coffee break

10:30: Suzanna Lewis: ‘Lessons from GO: How different is anatomy?’

11:00: Melissa Haendel: ‘How many anatomy ontologies?’

11:30: Panel discussion I: technical and social concerns, pros and cons (Suzanna Lewis, moderator): Hilmar Lapp, Matt Yoder, Pantelis Topalis, Pankaj Jaiswal)

12:30:  LUNCH; Advisory Board meeting

2:30 pm: Panel discussion II: technical and social concerns, pros and cons (Suzanna Lewis, moderator):  Lukas Mueller, Elisabeth Arnaud, David Sutherland, Peter Robinson

3:30:  Coffee break

3:45: Working group breakouts (plants, vertebrates, arthropods, informatics)

6:00: Shuttle back to hotel

8:00: Dinner (Revolution)

Sunday, Feb. 27, 2011

8:00 am: Shuttle to NESCent from hotel

8:30 am: Continental breakfast

9:00 am: Breakout group reports; general discussion on goals for RCN

10:30 am: Coffee break

11:00 am: Synthesis: RCN goals and timelines

11:30 am: Possible topics for future meetings

12:00: Meeting ends; airport shuttles; lunch

Participants

Elizabeth Arnaud, International Agricultural Research (CGIAR), France, e.arnaud@cgiar.org

Jim Balhoff, National Evolutionary Synthesis Center (NESCent), USA, balhoff@nescent.org

Jim Beach, University of Kansas, USA, beach@ku.edu

Dan Bunker, New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA, dbunker@njit.edu

Shane Burgess, Missouri State, USA, Burgess@cvm.msstate.edu

Nico Cellinese, Florida Museum of Natural History, University of Florida, USA ncellinese@flmnh.ufl.edu

Lol Cooper, Oregon State University, USA, cooperl@science.oregonstate.edu

Joel Cracraft, American Museum of Natural History, USA, jlc@amnh.org

Quentin Cronk, University of British Columbia, Canada, quentin.cronk@ubc.ca

Wasila Dahdul, National Evolutionary Synthesis Center (NESCent); Phenoscape, USA, wasila.dahdul@usd.edu

Andy Deans, North Carolina State University, USA, adeans@gmail.com

Chris Desjardins, Broad Institute, USA, cdesjard@broadinstitute.org

Christine Elsik, Georgetown University, USA, ce75@georgetown.edu

Nico Franz, University of Puerto Rico, USA, nico.franz@upr.edu

George Gkoutos, University of Cambridge, UK gg295@cam.ac.uk

Melissa Haendel, Oregon Health & Science University, USA haendel@ohsu.edu

Eva Huala, Carnegie Institution for Science, USA, huala@acoma.stanford.edu

Jaiswal Pankaj, Oregon State University, USA, jaiswalp@science.oregonstate.edu

Hilmar Lapp, National Evolutionary Synthesis Center (NESCent), USA, hlapp@nescent.org

Suzanna Lewis, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, CA, USA, selewis@lbl.gov

Paula Mabee, The University of South Dakota, USA, pmabee@usd.edu

Gary Merrill, North Carolina State University, USA, gary.h.merrill@ontolytics.com

Peter Midford, National Evolutionary Synthesis Center (NESCent); Phenoscape, USA, pmidford@nescent.org

Brent Mishler, UC Berkeley, USA, bmishler@berkeley.edu

Lukas Mueller, Boyce Thompson Institute, Cornell, USA, lam87@cornell.edu

Chris Mungall, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, CA, USA, CJMungall@lbl.gov

Cyndy Parr, National Museum of Natural History, Washington, DC, USA, parrc@si.edu

Cyril Pommier, National Institute for Agricultural Research (INRA), France, cyril.pommier@versailles.inra.fr

Martin Ramirez, Museo Argentino de Ciencias Naturales (Buenos Aires), Argentina, ramirez@macn.gov.ar

Greg Riccardi, Florida State University, USA, griccardi@fsu.edu

Peter Robinson, Institute for Medical Genetics, Germany, peter.robinson@charite.de

Erik Segerdell, Oregon Health & Science University, USA, erikjsegerdell@gmail.com

Rosemary Shrestha, International Agricultural Research (CGIAR), Mexico, R.Shrestha2@cgiar.org

Chris Smith, San Francisco State University, USA, smithcd@sfsu.edu

Cynthia Smith, The Jackson Laboratory, USA, csmith@informatics.jax.org

David Sutherland, University of Cambridge, UK, djs93@gen.cam.ac.uk

Pantelis Topalis, Institute of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, Greece, topalis@imbb.forth.gr

Todd Vision, University of North Carolina/Chapel Hill, USA, tjv@email.unc.edu

Marvalee Wake, UC Berkeley, USA, mhwake@socrates.berkeley.edu

Marcelo Weksler, Museu Nacional (Rio de Janeiro), Brazil, marcelo.weksler@gmail.com

Monte Westerfield, University of Oregon, USA, monte@uoneuro.uoregon.edu

Mark Westneat, Field Museum of Natural History, USA, mwestneat@fieldmuseum.org

Shaun Winterton, California Department of Food & Agriculture (CDFA), USA, wintertonshaun@gmail.com

Matt Yoder, North Carolina State University, USA, diapriid@gmail.com